Parents as Teachers

How will Parents as Teachers support me and my child?

We know that all parents want what’s best for their child, but being a new parent can be a challenge. We believe parents are their child’s first and most important teachers and the YWCA Parents as Teachers program supports you in this role.

Our free program partners with you to get your child ready for kindergarten and on the path to success. We use the Parents as Teachers curriculum to support you in the parenting process, with a focus on early childhood. Children involved in this program build larger vocabularies, increase reading scores and are better prepared for kindergarten.

Who is Parents as Teachers For?

Our program staff partner with young women and men ages 13-29 who are pregnant with their first child or who have a child under the age of 4.  This program is designed for parents who want to build a healthy foundation for their family.

What can I expect from Parents as Teachers?

  • Fun, personalized home visits
  • Monthly group activities
  • Developmental screenings
  • Access to other community resources
  • Support in reaching goals such as employment, childcare, housing and more!

For more information please contact Beth Russell, Young Adult Services Supervisor at (585) 368-2227 or ecrussell@ywcarochester.org

Program Staff

Beth Russell , Young Adult Services Supervisor     (585) 368-2227           ecrussell@ywcarochester.org

April Allen, Parent Services Navigator                        (585) 368-2204           aallen@ywcarochester.org

Chloe Anderson, Parent Educator                                (585)368-2261            canderson@ywcarochester.org

Tehia Bumbry, Parent Educator                                    (585)368-2242            Tbumbry@ywcarochester.org

Melody Flores, Parent Educator                                    (585) 368-2212           mflores@ywcarochester.org

Erin Gueli, Parent Educator                                             (585) 368-2246           eegueli@ywcarochester.org

Cynthia Love, Parent Services Navigator                   (585)368-2244           clove@ywcarochester.org

Betsy Wilson, Parent Educator                                       (585) 368-2241           bwilson@ywcarochester.org

Click Here to Download Brochure